Tests

image

We were forecast a heat wave this weekend, so yesterday I headed to Derbyshire with my Louis and my tent, for some quiet, Sun worship at my favourite camp site. 

image

I took some plant medicine with me, with the intention to do ceremony that evening and was planning the next day on visiting my sacred place and spending the day there in peaceful meditation.

However, on getting to the camp site I was greeted with 40mph winds!
Luckily I had taken the pop up tent, no poles or messing around, pop up, peg and in. Or so I thought!

image

Because there are no poles to support it, the wind kept blowing the flexi edges into the tent. Basically, it collapsed in on itself, several times! After re pegging twice, I gave up. Have survived worse 😁
So I blew my bed up, set up camp and prayed it didn’t rain too. By this time it was around 2.30 pm, so we went for a walk.

image

image

We had a beautiful encounter with a Sheep and her very inquisitive lamb. In spite of Louis being there, they came to just beyond my reach. When I began to walk away, they followed us, so I stopped and they came close again. It made me smile as all the others bolted as soon as they saw you coming. 😁

image

On the way back I found these fab feathers. The one on the left is Magpie, who has been very prevalent recently. The middle one could be Raven or Crow though I’m hoping it’s Raven and the right one is Crow. 🙂

image

We got back around 5pm windswept and aching. It’s a strenuous walk normally but with the wind too, it was beyond a workout lol

The campsite had filled up and more cars were queuing to get in.  Here was me thinking it would be quiet. Though it wasn’t going to be quiet with the wind anyway lol

Louis took to the car where it was warmer, while I made food.

image

I repositioned the car to hopefully act as a wind break and set about trying to make food. I finally lit the BBQ after many expletives and just as it was getting going I accidentally threw water on it!

Plan B then! it’s a good job that like the Crow, I am very resourceful. 🙂

I put my other Billy can on top of the rice and veg one with some butter ion it and cooked the meat in there, then I put the kettle on top of that. A bit like a steamer but it worked!

image

The gas cooker kept going out so it took one and a half gas cans and two and a half hours to cook my food. It used all my gas and the kettle didn’t get hot, so no cup of tea for me then. I chuckled to myself that the detox would do me good.

The food tho Luke warm was lovely, I was starving and ate the lot, thought about getting a pic as it looked so nice but hunger overrode that lol. Louis got some liver too.

Confined to the tent, I was glad that I took my book to read and sketch pad. Tried to draw what I saw on Tuesday, while having my Access Bars run. It’s not good but hey ho , first attempt.

image

It’s meant to be Angel wings above a purple diamond with light coming out of the points and a butterfly at the bottom. Forming a kind of mandala or medicine wheel.

Around 10pm the wind began to drop a little.  In agony with my back, every movement causing sharp pain, I decided to try and get some sleep, so that I could get up early and head to lawrencefield.  Just as I got settled down, a group of guys decided to party, music, swearing, shouting, beeping horns, general lad stuff, till around 1am.

I eventually got to sleep but the blow up bed just fit snug into the tent, which meant the sides touched it, causing condensation to drip onto my head and legs. So I kept waking up, either in pain with my back or lip or because I was wet and freezing.

By 3.45am I was wide awake, soaked through and dying for the loo. My sleeping bag was wet and the zip had stuck. Took me ten mins to get out of it lol finally free, I gave thanks that it did not rain in the night and looked out of the tent to greet the dawn. Huge black clouds were rolling over, the wind had dropped a little though.  This tent would be useless in a downpour, so I decided to leave and hastily packed up and headed off. Around 4.45am when I got to the gate the clouds had passed, not a drop of rain in sight and I could see the Suns morning display. 😍

image

It looked like it was going to turn into a glorious day and I debated on going to Lawrencefield after all, it would be amazing at that time of day.

I was filled with joy on the journey back. No one on the roads meant I could stop and take in the views, snap some pictures and connect to the land energetically.  I was very excited to see a Raven, not seen one in the wild before in the UK, I tried to get a pic but it swooped off. Driving through here there were crows, ravens and rooks. One day I will get to walk down this at dawn!

image

image

image

We stopped at Lady Bower lake, usually its grid locked with parked cars. In all the years that I have been camping in Derbyshire this is only the second time I’ve actually seen it up close.

image

image

image

image

As we got nearer to the turning for home, I decided not to go to Lawrencefield which was another half hour in the opposite direction. Sleep was calling and a hot bath.  I grabbed a coffee at a petrol station to keep me awake and warm up a little.

The road back to civilisation is my favourite stretch of the journey, ten miles of windey country road with lots of places ive always wanted to stop at and Ive always wanted to get pics of and today I could. this being one of them, didn’t turn out so clear but that’s ok, I got to stop and take one. 🙂

image

There is a tiny village on this road, it has a pub and a couple of houses. The pheasants and peacocks roam free. It’s a magical place, you can feel it as you turn into it. Today I got to really feel it and will deffinately be visiting there for a few hours next time.

image

image

It was around 6.30am by now and Louis was giving me the look, so I pulled up to take him for a walk at a place that I thought might lead down to the lake but there was a farm at the end of the path.

image

image

image

image

image

And the last thing we saw on the way back to the car were two black lambs.
Pretty symbolic I thought.

image

On the way back there were two wagtails in the road, I had to break hard so s not to hit them because they didn’t fly away but level with my bumber, then landing on the road again till I nearly hit them then flying infront of me. They did it several times, some strange dance of fate that I’m honoured to have seen and grateful that there were no other cars around. This is a pic of one that I took at Lady Bower, half an hour earlier.

image

We got home at 7.30am, unpacked the food and went to bed.  I slept till 1.30pm and got up to glorious sunshine here. Louis didn’t get up till after 2!

The element of air is strong, from sky to bird. Emotions, creativity, cleansing. ‘re energizing, freedom!

The up side of being single is that I didn’t have to put up with someone else  moaning that the tent was crap or that I put the BBQ out or that it was too windy to have the tent open or that we had no hot drinks or that we came home a day early.

I am blessed in that I can do what I like with no one making a bad situation worse and I’m free to take little pleasures where I can 🙂

Happy Days ❤

7 thoughts on “Tests

Leave a Reply

