My Heros Journey

Image

A Friend of mine did a Shamanic workshop for my students and I last week, the main focus was ‘The Hero’s Journey’.The class was awesome, everyone loved it and took a lot from it.

After explaining the history behind it and talking us through several scenarios where it can be applied to our lives, we did a meditation reflecting back on a time in our lives to see the pattern and at the end we did a shamanic journey to find out where we are at now, the coming year/next part of our journey and what our life path is.

For me it put a lot of things into perspective.

I am at the ‘Ordeal’ stage….However I now know where I have been going wrong and what I have to do. :o)

For those that do not know me, the past 2yrs has been a roller coaster ride for me in every aspect; love, friends, work, health, sanity!

I couldnt understand why my business just ticks along, not earning me a wage when others in this field are flourishing. I have no hidden agenda’s, do lots of work free, for charity, friends etc, I share my knowledge freely with anyone who wishes to learn. I come from the heart in all that I do. Yet still I struggle to live.

I am a loyal and trusting friend to all who come into my circle, yet, I have had more than my fair share of ‘false’ friends with their own agenda’s over the past 2yrs.

It seems the reason for ALL of this is because although I have been doing the ‘good work’ as it were, I have not been following my true path. The path I should be following with all my focus is Shamanism!!

This all makes sense to me as it has been a big part of my being since my earliest memories 3-4yr old. I know more Shamans than I do ‘normal’ healers, my connection with Grandfather Bearheart started at 10years old and his grandaghter Von found me on myspace and we became very close, soul sisters infact.  I have worked with a Cherokee friend of mine several times with healing etc, there are many online friends and of course there is Kris, who I have known for 7yrs now. I know many more, though not in real time. I have wanted to study NA herbal medicines for years but not found anyone who practices it in the UK.

Out of everything that I do; Reiki, Hypnotherapy, EFT, Regression, Chaneling, teaching….etc…the only thing I have not truly studied and the only thing i’m really drawn to is Shamanic Practices.

Now, Kris talked about his journey which led him to where he is today. He was at the ‘ordeal’ stage when his cousin gave him back a book that he had borrowed yrs before and in that moment, Kris knew what he must do.

The book; ‘Way of the Shamen’ by Michael Harner’, a copy of which had been sat in my book case unread, for 4years!!!

In my journey/meditation I saw many things, 3 things stuck out as unusual though. A crocodile/alligator which traveled down the pathway with me by my side, A Hawk (which is one of my totems) but it ‘felt’ different like I had to take notice, and a FIG? lol..not sure about the fig other than the biblical story and the revealing of true wisdom/knowledge?

After Kris left I logged onto myspace and there it was the final call of recognition:
‘Hawk Medicine’ -The Power Of Perspective.

”Hawks have the power to soar high above the earth, giving them a perspective previously only available to the inhabitants of the heavens above. Because of this, people from various cultures throughout history have seen them as messengers of spirit, bringing wisdom from the heavens and the value of their higher vision down to earth. From their vantage point, riding on the wind and sunlight, they remind us today that there is a bigger picture to be seen. When we get bogged down with the details of what is right in front of us, hawks help us remember that we are part of a larger plan and that everything fits together beautifully and perfectly. Once in this expanded frame of mind, we can harness their reputation as visionaries, using their keen eyesight to focus on the exact spot that truly needs our attention. With inspiration and focus on our goal, hawks teach us how to interpret and then follow our personal vision…

Hawks were thought to be able to look directly into the sun and see what is not visible to the rest of us. Using our spiritual vision, we too can look deeply into the inner light that guides us, seeing clearly what is not visible unless sought: our personal truth glowing within us. With that knowledge, we, like the hawk, can confidently ride the winds of chance, moving as one with the flow of whirling energy. This ability is what inspired the Egyptians to make hawks the hieroglyphic symbol for the wind…

The hawk’s ability to live on land but visit the sky is a good reminder for us all. They remind us that their strength and survival comes from communing regularly with the spirit and bringing the guidance received into earthly affairs. Soaring in the province of the heavenly bodies of the sun, the stars, and the wind that moves the clouds reminds us to consider a larger perspective, one that inspires us to move through the world we inhabit with strength, certainty, and grace…”

So all in all I think it is time I shed my traditional ‘spiritual’ work ethics and do some serious shamanic studies. I am going to look for work outside of my field for a while so that I can take a break, study, gather funds and focus on my pathway. Elijah’s Light will cease to be and return as something more fitting. :o)

Blessings.

26 Jan 2009

Post Note…let my procastination be a lesson to us all…this was 4yrs ago and the momentum didnt last, so here I am gone full circle, gone through the same problems and back at embracing my true path…we humans are foolish creatures at times! lol

Leave a Reply

